Fall, Food, Recipes

Roasted Root Vegetables  

  

Am I the only one that goes to a farmers market or grocery store gets all excited for the produce, buys it all then it sits in the kitchen? It then becomes like the snakes to Pee Wee, they are the last things we want to touch while making dinner and they get passed up for the cuter easier bag of frozen broccoli or spring mix. I hope I’m not! Even still I’m always left with a plethora of vegetables by the next week. This is when we have just veggies as our dinner. It’s not lazy it’s really healthy! It’s also a good thing my kids and I could polish off a pan of roasted vegatables in an afternoon so this dinner is like a treat, I just can’t make it too early in the day or there won’t be any dinner left. It’s happened. The great thing though is you can make it early in the day. 

I clear out my vegetable drawer of like veggies, potatoes, carrots, fennel, onions whatever you have that will cook the same. Do one big chopping session, season well, coat with oil and dinners done! You even get your side dish done for the next night!

  

Roasted Root Vegatables

Half sheet pan

Variety of Vegatables, I used fennel, potatoes, carrots, turnips, onions

Chop roughly the same size, season well with salt and pepper coat with oil. Roast in 400 degree oven for about an hour stir every 20 minutes, you may need more oil, until tender and caramelized. I stir more often at the end of the hour too. 

Enjoy! 

Standard

Leave a comment